Nature in a kit

24.06 – 27.09.2009

For several years, the evidence has been there to see: nature is coming back in force in society’s discussions as much as in the imagination of contemporary creators. What with the call for collective responsibility to safeguard it and the multiplication of urban substitutes, nature seems omnipresent, whereas we have never been so distanced from it. The central subject of very pragmatic challenges, its original inspirational power is effecting a transformation and confronting mankind with the question of its use.

Contemporary creation has made itself into an eloquent interpreter of this and is delineating new outlines through sundry media. Designers and artists take pleasure in clouding the issues with literal responses, allusive evocations, never before seen hybridisations and biting visual comments. The exhibition Nature in a Kit re-composes in its fashion a landscape of our time, a constructed environment which brings together the works of around a hundred creators from all over the world.

Designers, artists and creators: Eero Aarnio, Thomas Adank, Saâdane Afif, &made, Ron Arad, Article Design, Az&mut, Sannah Belzer, John Angelo Benson, Susi et Ueli Berger, Sebastian Bergne, Fabio Biancaniello, Mattia Bonetti, Tord Boontje, Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, Andrea Branzi, Nicolette Brunklaus, Robby & Francesca Cantarutti, Cyprien Chabert, Colors, Fabrica, 5.5 Designers, Oriane Dambrune & Marion Excoffon, Felix De Pass, Mark Dion, Patrick Dougherty, Terry Dwan, Martino d’Esposito, Fabrica, Shao Fao, Yvonne Fehling & Jennie Peiz, Bean Finneran, Fredrikson-Stallard, FRONT design, Fulguro, Naoto Fukasawa, Hubert Le Gall, Frank Gehry, Moreno Gentili, Piero Gilardi, Natanel Gluska, Grandeur Nature, Konstantin Grcic, Jan Habraken & Alissia Melka-Teichroew, Ilkka Halso, Robert F. Hammerstiel, Estelle Hanania, Ineke Hans, Elina Helenius, Michel Huelin, Philippe Hurel, Emanuelle Jaques, Ulrika Jarl, Ronèl Jordaan, Rachna Joshi Nair, Chris Kabel pour Droog Design, Sanna Kannisto, Meric Kara, Tetê Knecht, Vincent Kohler, Cathrine Kullberg, Shiro Kuramata, Olivier Lasserre, Arik Levy, Gudrun Lilja, Xavier Lust, Jonas Marguet, Peter Marigold, Stéphanie Marin, Javier Mariscal, Tony Matelli, Julian Mayor, Mario Mazzer, Michael Meredith, Mario Minale & Kuniko Maeda, Molodesign, Jasper Morrison, Olaf Nicolai, Josh Owen, Russell Pinch, Vik Prjónsdóttir, Qubo Gas, Marc Quinn, Peter Rösel, Denis Santachiara, Ene-Liis Semper, Borek Sipek, Wieki Somers, Robert Stadler, Philippe Starck, Alice Stepanek & Steven Maslin, Patricia Urquiola, Bas Van der Veer, Verges & Lagae, Marcel Wanders, Laurence Weiner, Leonard Wilkop, Robert Wilson, WOKmedia, Emmanuel Wolfs & Jung Bo-Young, Woodloops – Just nature !, YKSI Design – Leonne Cuppen, Tokujin Yoshioka, Tristan Zimmermann, Edwin Zwakman, Zoom Design