Design

Collections

From industrial design, fashion, applied arts and narrative design, mudac’s design collection comprises more than 920 objects that reflect the functional, formal, innovative and aesthetic concerns of their time.

Deposits
+ de 900 artworks
Fields
furniture, lights, tableware, textile pieces, high-tech objects
Period
20 – 21e century
Chair by Big Game
BIG-GAME, Bold Chair, 2009
© AN - Marie Humair

Evidence of the diversity of design

The collection is made up of numerous objects: furniture, lighting, tableware, sculptures, textile pieces and high-tech objects. In addition to the emphasis on designers from Western Switzerland, the collection also includes objects purchased during carte blanche events, i.e. exhibitions curated by local or international designers. Freshness, experimentation, rigour, materiality and the unexpected are the watchwords that characterise mudac’s design collection.

 

The design archives of Western Switzerland

The aim of mudac is to create an archive of design in Western Switzerland and the aim of these archives will be to safeguard the various activities carried out by artists and public or private companies in the development of design in Western Switzerland. These archives will be made up of study documents and prototypes or published products.

This ambitious project will bring together the collections, exhibitions. research centres and external partners who will help the museum to enhance the value of these collections and showcase them to the public in a dynamic way. In addition, this ensemble will allow the public to better understand the challenges of today’s design.

The design archives of Western Switzerland will soon be accessible to the public.

Contact

Loan request and conservation
anais.devaux@lausanne.ch
+41 21 315 25 37

Acquisition policy

The museum’s move to Plateforme 10 represents an opportunity to redefine the acquisition policy for works and the meaning of mudac’s collections.

More information

Design

Collections

Issue du design industriel, de la mode, des arts appliqués ou encore du design narratif, la collection design du mudac comprend plus de 920 objets qui traduisent les préoccupations fonctionnelles, formelles, innovantes et esthétiques de leur époque.

Dépôts
+ de 900 œuvres
Champs
mobilier, luminaires, ustensiles d’art de la table, pièces de textile, objets de haute technologie
Période
20 – 21e siècle
Chair by Big Game
BIG-GAME, Bold Chair, 2009
© AN - Marie Humair

Attester la diversité du design

La collection est composée de nombreux objets : mobilier, luminaires, ustensiles d’art de la table, sculptures, pièces en textile ou encore objets de haute technologie. Outre l’accent mis sur les designers romand.e.s, la collection se compose également d’objets achetés à l’occasion de « cartes blanches », expositions proposées à des designers locaux.ales ou internationaux.ales. Fraîcheur, expérimentation, rigueur, matérialité ou encore inattendu sont les mots d’ordre qui caractérisent la collection design du mudac.

Les archives du design romand

Le mudac a comme but de constituer les archives du design romand. L’objectif de ces archives va être de sauvegarder des différentes actions menées par des personnes comme des entreprises publiques ou privées dans le développement du design en Romandie. Ces archives seront constituées aussi bien de documents d’études ayant conduit à la création, ou non, d’un objet que de prototypes ou de produits édités.

Cet ambitieux projet mettra en relation les départements des collections, des expositions, du centre de recherche ainsi que des partenaires extérieurs qui aideront le musée à valoriser ces fonds et à les présenter de manière dynamique aux publics. De plus, cet ensemble permettra au public de mieux cerner les enjeux du design d’aujourd’hui.

Les archives du design romand seront prochainement accessibles pour le public.

Contact

Demande de prêt et conservation
anais.devaux@lausanne.ch

+41 21 315 25 37

Politique d'acquisition

L’emménagement du musée à Plateforme 10 représente une opportunité pour redéfinir la politique d’acquisition des œuvres et du sens des collections du mudac.

En savoir plus