MUDAC - musée de design et d'arts appliqués contemporains

Collection

Contemporary glass art

The collection of contemporary glass art  is the fruit of a long and positive collaboration between a couple of patrons and the Musée des arts décoratifs de la Ville de Lausanne, now known as mudac. In the 1960s, Peter and Traudl Engelhorn felt the desire to put together a collection. They wanted an original project anchored in recent developments in art and technique. When they discovered the glass sculptures from the Fucina degli Angeli and the appearance of a new discipline of glass art, they decided to document the emerging history of this art form at a global level. They also sought to share their passion with as many others as possible, by making their works highly visible. It was for this reason that, in 1971, they signed a convention with the City of Lausanne, stipulating that each acquisition would be immediately handed over to the museum and thus become public property.

After the first donation of 36 œuvres from the Fucina degli Angeli born of a collaboration between a Venetian master glass craftsman, Egidio Costantini, and renowned 20th century designers, there were numerous glass works commissioned from artists such as Pierre Dmitrienko, Salvador Dali and Thomas Gleb, and published in limited edition by Daum in Nancy, which added to the museum’s collection of glass art. The patrons also paid particular attention to works in cut crystal by the Steuben glass factory in the United States and, naturally, to the studio glass movement as it emerged in Europe, Japan and the United States. Therefore, the collection includes signed pieces of internationally renowned artists such as Peter Aldridge, Stanislav Libensky and Jaroslava Brychtova, Bert Frijns, Dale Chihuly, Niyoko Ikuta, Philip Baldwin and Monica Guggisberg, Bernard Dejonghe and Lino Tagliapietra.

The mudac’s collection of contemporary glass art thus illustrates the history of this fascinating discipline. For around fifteen years, it has also benefited from works which interweave ties with design. Take for example, the Water II Caraf by the Dutch designer Pieke Bergmans, Jug by the Italian design duo Studio Formafantasma or Mae West by Studio Job. Since then, this collection has been fully incorporated into the collection held by the museum, reflecting the mudac’s current wish to use both its acquisitions policy and its exhibitions to emphasise the porosity between contemporary art, design and applied arts.

The inventory is constantly updated, and the works are documented photographically. It is available to view via the city of Lausanne’s museums database. Researchers and others with a particular interest in the field can view the collection by appointment.

Share

Related

From 26.02.2019 to 28.04.2019

Verre en scène #7

Exhibition

Read More

MUDAC - musée de design et d'arts appliqués contemporains

Collection

Installation de Simon Klenell

Art verrier contemporain

La collection d’art verrier contemporain est le fruit d’une belle et longue collaboration entre un couple de mécènes et le Musée des arts décoratifs de la Ville de Lausanne, puis le mudac. Dans les années 1960, Peter et Traudl Engelhorn avaient le désir de constituer une collection. Ils souhaitaient un projet inédit et ancré dans les développements récents de l’art et de la technique. Lorsqu’ils découvrirent les sculptures en verre de la Forge des Anges et l’apparition de cette nouvelle discipline, l’art verrier, ils décidèrent de documenter à l’échelle mondiale l’histoire naissante de cet art. Ils souhaitaient également partager leur passion avec le plus grand nombre en offrant une large visibilité aux œuvres. C’est pourquoi, en 1971, ils signèrent une Convention avec la Ville de Lausanne, stipulant que chaque acquisition devient directement propriété du musée et donc bien public.

Après la première donation des 36 œuvres de la Fucina degli Angeli nées de la collaboration d’un maître verrier vénitien Egidio Costantini et d’illustres créateurs du 20e siècle, ce sont des multiples de pâte de verre commandés à des artistes tels que Pierre Dmitrienko, Salvador Dali ou encore Thomas Gleb et édités en tirage limité par la maison Daum à Nancy qui vinrent enrichir la collection d’art verrier du musée. Les mécènes portèrent aussi une attention particulière aux œuvres en cristal taillé de la manufacture de verre Steuben Glass aux États-Unis et bien évidemment au mouvement du Studio Glass tel qu’il se manifeste en Europe, au Japon et aux États-Unis. Ainsi, la collection comprend, entre autres, des pièces de renommées internationales signées par Peter Aldridge, Stanislav Libensky et Jaroslava Brychtova, Bert Frijns, Dale Chihuly, Niyoko Ikuta, Philip Baldwin et Monica Guggisberg, Bernard Dejonghe ou encore Lino Tagliapietra.

La collection d’art verrier contemporain du mudac illustre donc l’histoire de cette fascinante discipline et depuis une quinzaine d’années s’enrichit également de créations qui tissent des ponts avec le design. Citons notamment la Water II Caraf de la designer néerlandaise Pieke Bergmans, Jug du duo de designers italiens Formafantasma ou Mae West de Studio Job. Dès lors, la collection s’inscrit pleinement au sein du musée qui l’abrite et reflète la volonté actuelle du mudac à souligner, tant dans sa politique d’acquisitions que dans ses expositions, la porosité existante entre l’art contemporain, le design et les arts appliqués.

L’inventaire est constamment mis à jour, et les œuvres documentées par la photographie. Il peut être consulté sur la base de données des musées de la Ville de Lausanne.

La collection peut être visitée sur rendez-vous par des chercheurs ou personnes ayant un intérêt particulier pour ce domaine.

Partager

Lié

Du 11.12.2013 au 01.03.2015

Le verre vivant

Exposition

Plus d'info