mudac at Swiss Design Awards, Messe Basel


"Collect me if you can !"

Wednesday 14 June
10-11 am
Hall 1.1, Messe Basel


A breakfast conversation around new collecting approaches for design institutions as definitions of design increasingly expand from object-oriented practices towards lessons of research-driven exploration across territories, disciplines and materials histories. A talk with :

  • Beatrice Leanza, Director of mudac, Lausanne
  • Nathalie Herschdorfer, President of the Federal Design Commission and Director of Photo Elysée, Lausanne
  • Damian Fopp, Curator at Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
  • Vera Sacchetti, Design critic and Curator, Basel
  • Jennifer Olshin, Partner of Friedman Benda Gallery, New York

Swiss Design Awards Exhibition

The Swiss Design Awards exhibition takes place in parallel with Art Basel and Design Miami/Basel and attracts more than 12’000 visitors every year. On display are 52 projects by the finalists of the Swiss Design Awards. The winners of the Swiss Grand Prix Design are portrayed in videos and a publication. Both formats contain unpublished material and will be presented for the first time in Basel. For more information on the Swiss Grand Prix Design, please visit

Every year, the exhibition is an unmissable event in the Swiss design calendar. In the international context of Art Basel and Design Miami/ Basel, the Federal Office of Culture shows current Swiss design work in all its facets. A rich mediation program will accompany this year’s edition.

Swiss Design Competition

All Swiss designers and designers working in Switzerland can take part in the Swiss Design Competition. The jury consists of the seven members of the Federal Design Commission and invited experts. In a first step, the jury looks at the dossiers submitted to the competition and makes a selection for the second round, held at the exhibition in Basel about two weeks before the opening. There, the exhibited projects are judged, and the 17 Swiss Design Prizes are awarded. The prize money is CHF 25’000 per award.