MUDAC - musée de design et d'arts appliqués contemporains

Collection

Amulette en forme de doigts d'Osiris

Jacques-Édouard Berger

The collections of ancient Egyptian and Asian art amassed during his lifetime by Jacques-Edouard Berger, art historian, lecturer, organiser and accompanier of cultural trips, were deposited with the City of Lausanne in 2000 by the Jacques-Édouard Berger Foundation, after his death in 1993.

Chinese earthenware and ceramics, Egyptian heads and torsos, animals and talismans, Buddhas and boddhisattvas, daily utensils and funerary objects: over 900 objects were gathered by Jacques-Édouard Berger during his journeys in Egypt, India, Japan, Laos and Burma. One gallery is dedicated to ancient Egyptian art, while two other rooms present objects from Asia, for the most part Chinese but also Indian, Tibetan and Japanese.

The inventory is up to date, and the works are documented photographically. It is available to view via the city of Lausanne’s museums database. Researchers and others with a particular interest in the field can view the collection by appointment.

Share

Related

From 01.01.2004 to 01.05.2005
Read More

MUDAC - musée de design et d'arts appliqués contemporains

Collection

Amulette en forme de doigts d'Osiris

Jacques-Edouard Berger

Les collections d’art ancien d’Égypte et d’Asie ont été réunies par Jacques-Édouard Berger, historien d’art, conférencier, organisateur et accompagnateur de voyages culturels, décédé en 1993. Elles ont été déposées en 2000 auprès de la Ville de Lausanne par la Fondation du même nom.

Terres cuites et céramiques chinoises, têtes et torses d’Égypte, animaux familiers et talismans, bouddhas et boddhisattvas, ustensiles du quotidien et objets funéraires: ce sont plus de 900 œuvres, que Jacques-Édouard Berger a collectionnées à l’occasion de ses voyages en Égypte, en Inde, au Japon, au Laos et en Birmanie. Elles sont présentées dans des expositions thématiques régulièrement renouvelées dans les trois salles réservées du musée.

L’inventaire est constamment mis à jour, et les œuvres documentées par la photographie. Il peut être consulté sur la base de données des musées de la Ville de Lausanne. La collection peut être visitée sur rendez-vous par des chercheurs.

Partager

Lié